TOHOKU TRIP, DAY 5: Sado Island

It’s day 5 and that means my expensive ferry ride (7400yen, yikes) is finally happening! The ferry is brandnew and was only put in service two weeks ago, on April 21st.

Entering the ferry

Entering the ferry

Once arrived on Sado, I was immediately greeted by a lot of green, blue sky and fresh air. It wasn’t entirely fair to Joetsu, because the clouds were drifting from Sado and had almost passed the harbour, but it made my arrival all the more exciting.

Island road

Island road

Most of Sado’s working population is either in the rice farming or fishing business. There are a lot of small fisher villages that looks very different from anything I’ve seen on Honshu (more pictures in the next blog entry for day 6).

The little town Ogawa

The little town Ogawa

After a while, I arrived in my youth hostel where I had booked a shared room. Both nights, I had a hardcore bicycle enthusiast for a roommate.

View from my shared room.

View from my shared room.

Sado Belle Mer Youth Hostel. Great place! Cheap, clean, really friendly staff and a stunning location.  http://sado.bellemer.jp/

Sado Belle Mer Youth Hostel.
Great place! Cheap, clean, really friendly staff and a stunning location.
http://sado.bellemer.jp/

Greetings to Zack from Ohio State, who sleeps under the open sky and bikes all across the island. Also greetings to my Japanese companion with whom I had a great conversation all evening long (in Japanese! :D), but I can’t remember his name. He even rode his bike all the way vom Ibaraki prefecture, which is around 300km away.

In front of the hostel - Golden Week celebration

In front of the hostel – Golden Week celebration

The hostel

The hostel

It was only 1pm, so I decided to go and explore the entire island as much as I could. After a brief exploration of the historic gold mine, which I won’t talk about here because this isn’t a history class (!!11), I went up Osada Skyline – a famous mountain pass that is not only incredible steep, but also rewards its conquerers with views of the entire island. It’s up to 800m high, which is particularly impressive considering that you naturally start at sea level.

Climbing the brilliant Osada Skyline

Climbing the brilliant Osada Skyline

Osada Skyline climbs from 0 to 800m above sea level within a few kilometers.

Osada Skyline climbs from 0 to 800m above sea level within a few kilometers.

Osada Skyline

Osada Skyline

View over entire central Sado

View over entire central Sado

Finished the day with some beautiful impressions of the sun setting over rice fields. No description necessary, I think, so I will let the pictures speak for themselves.

Evening sun.

Evening sun.

Ricefields - Sado's is famous for them. They are absolutely everywhere!

Ricefields – Sado’s is famous for them. They are absolutely everywhere!

Ricefield sunset

Ricefield sunset

Sunset over Sado

Sunset over Sado

Leave a Reply

