Tohoku Trip, DAY 1: Riding to Koriyama

This morning marked the start of a 9-day roadtrip throughout the Touhoku and Chuubu regions. I will not lay out the route of my entire trip to preserve a certain “excitement” for the one person who cares! 🙂

Just the road and I

Just the road and I

Today, I already finished the longest 1-day trip, all the way from my home Hiyoshi in Yokohama to Koriyama – a city in Fukushima prefecture. While only 72km away from Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear power plant, Koriyama is also very close to Bandai Azuma Roadway – which is my destination for tomorrow.

Day 1: Hiyoshi (Yokohama) to Koriyama (Fukushima prefecture)

Day 1: Hiyoshi (Yokohama) to Koriyama (Fukushima prefecture)

Despite being only around 250 kilometers, the ride to Koriyama took longer than I had anticipated. It took almost two hours to finally leave the urban surroundings of Tokyo, which included the constant red traffic lights. It was very interesting to see how different Tokyo looks even when comparing North and South, West and North. Yokohama looks nothing like Hachioji, Hachioji is completely different from Suginami, and don’t even get me started on how Suginami is totally not Itabashi!!

Northern Tokyo becomes less crowded, with lots of industrial space and freeways. Inbetween large green areas with rivers crossing through them. Once I left this area, I found myself in the midst of flat farmland with an abundance of rice fields.

Rice Fields near Sakura-shi.

Rice Fields near Sakura-shi.

Since it is already fairly late and I haven’t yet figured out my route for tomorrow, I will now have the pictures tell the rest of the story.

Train overpass passing over the overpass. Also: 警察!!1 (Police)

Train overpass passing over the overpass.
Also: 警察!!1 (Police)

Saw this beautiful Nissan R34 GT-R out near Sukagawa in Fukushima prefecture.  This is the V-Spec II.

Saw this beautiful Nissan R34 GT-R out near Sukagawa in Fukushima prefecture.
This is the V-Spec II.

Next entry will be online in 24 hours!

Leave a Reply

